An open call for distinctive, dynamic, heart- stopping, extraordinary, wonderful plays.


Now closed


Announced mid March

Send to

The Requirements

Driven by their ethos to nurture and support rising star talent, non-profit theatre company Platform Presents, set up by actress Gala Gordon and producer Isabella Macpherson, has launched a new Playwright’s Prize, with an open competition for playwrights to send in their plays.

We have just launched a call for playwrights to send in their play, of up to 10,000 words by February 15th 2019 to We will then send the shortlist to the judging panel, with a meeting to be held and the winner announced after this.

The Platform Presents Playwright’s Prize aims to nurture and provide more opportunities to playwrights, and will be judged by a panel including Nicholas Pinnock, (actor & poet), Mary Laws, (playwright, ‘Blueberry Toast’, screenwriter, AMC’s ‘Preacher’ and HBO’s ‘Succession’), Nadia Latif (Associate Director, The Young Vic), Nancy Durrant (Arts Commissioning Editor, The Times), David Eldridge, (playwright, ‘Beginning’ National Theatre, ‘Holy Warriors’ The Globe, ‘In Basildon’, Royal Court Theatre & ‘The Knot of the Heart’, Almeida Theatre & screenwriter), Nadine Rennie, (Casting Director, Soho Theatre), Justin Martin, (Director, ‘The Jungle’, Associate Director, ‘The Inheritance’ & The Crown’), Adam Speers, (Executive Producer, ATG Productions), Caitlin Ryan, Creative Director, EMEA, Facebook & Instagram, Jessica Ronane, (Casting Director, The Old Vic & Jessica Ronane Casting), Ellie Kendrick (actress, BBC’s ‘Anne Frank, ‘Upstairs Downstairs’, HBO’s ‘Game of Thrones’ & playwright ‘Hole’ Royal Court), and Platform Presents Co-Founders, Gala Gordon and Isabella Macpherson.

The 2019 Poetry Gala will be directed by Natalie Abrahami (‘Machinal’ – Almeida Theatre, ‘Wings’ – Young Vic, ‘Queen Anne’ – Haymarket) and the company includes Juliet Stevenson, Rhys Ifans, Denise Gough, Jason Watkins, Romola Garai, Tobias Menzies, Gala Gordon, Paapa Essiedu, Dougray Scott, Jade Anouka, Kyle Soller, Genevieve O’Reilly, Danny Kirrane, Phoebe Fox, Andrew Burnap, Jaime Winstone, John Standing, Adrianna Bertola, Fisayo Akinade, George Mackay, Emily Berrington, Iwan Rheon, James Massiah, Grace Savage, Harry Treadaway, Sebastian de Souza, Ollie Feather and Tuppence Middleton and more.